British Book Database

The Peacock Summer

In 1955, a young Lillian Oberon is the mistress of Cloudesley, a lavish English estate. Though wealthy and well looked after, she feels her marriage is a sham and longs for escape – and when a charismatic artist visits one summer, she might just get it.

Many years later, Maggie Oberon has broken off her engagement and moved to Australia. When her beloved grandmother Lillian takes ill, she’s forced to return to England and confront her past, along with the crumbling family estate. Can she save it? And what will she uncover in the process?

Shop Now

You might also be interested in…

Kate Riordan

Diane Setterfield