All of Robert Thorogood’s Death in Paradise Books in Order


In some cases, we earn commissions from affiliate links in our posts.

You'd be hard-pressed to find any serious British TV fans who weren't aware of Death in Paradise – but even among the most serious TV fans, many are unaware that along with the long-running TV series, there are a number of Death in Paradise books. In addition to creating the TV show, writer Robert Thorogood has also turned his hand to fiction.

For those not familiar with the series, it's your basic fish-out-of-water cozy-ish mystery. An uptight British police detective is sent to work on the fictional island of Saint-Marie – a place that's hot, sunny, laid-back, and full of spicy food. Though it's a rough adjustment at first, he slowly comes to tolerate the place and love its inhabitants.

All of Robert Thorogood's Death in Paradise Books in Order

Death in Paradise is set on the fictional island of Saint-Marie (and in real life, Guadeloupe serves as the filming location for the TV series)

If you watched Death in Paradise and lost interest after DI Richard Poole (Ben Miller) left the series, you'll appreciate that all of the novels are written around his character. Sure, it's not the same as having him back on TV – but it's better than nothing.

To date, there are four Death in Paradise novels. Unfortunately, availability varies widely from book-to-book and format-to-format. I'm not sure what kind of rights mess they have going on with the series and different territories, but you may have to resort to eBay and/or physical copies for some of the books.

Death in Paradise, Book 1 | A Meditation on Murder

A Meditation on Murder (2015)

Newly seconded from London to the Caribbean island of Saint Marie, DI Richard Poole is struggling. It's too hot to be comfortable in his preferred suits, he's living in a shack on the beach, and the laid-back lifestyle simply isn't for him.

When self-described guru Aslan Kennedy is murdered at his own spiritual retreat, DI Poole will have to find the killer. The problem? The murder took place in a locked room with five other people inside – and though someone has confessed, it doesn't add up.

Get it: Kindle | Audiobook | Paperback | eBay | (supports independent bookshops)


Death in Paradise, Book 2 | The Killing of Polly Carter

The Killing of Polly Carter (2016)

When supermodel Polly Carter is found dead beneath a cliff, it seems like an obvious suicide. DI Poole, however, is not convinced. What's more, none of Ms. Carter's friends believe she would have killed herself.

Still struggling with the heat and his new lifestyle, DI Poole will have to sift through a mountain of conflicting motives and alibis…while also dealing with a visit from his mum.

Get it: Kindle | Audiobook | Paperback | eBay | (supports independent bookshops)


Death in Paradise, Book 3 | Death Knocks Twice

Death Knocks Twice (2017)

In this installment, DI Poole's dreams of wind, rain, and his favourite pub are disrupted by the appearance of not one, but two bodies.

First, a vagrant is found dead on the grounds of a historic local plantation. Soon after, a second body turns up. He'll have to work quickly to ensure it stops there.

Get it: Kindle | Audiobook | Paperback | eBay | (supports independent bookshops)


Death in Paradise, Book 4 | Murder in the Caribbean

Murder in the Caribbean (2018)

When a boat explodes in the harbour, Richard and his team quickly realise it's a matter of foul play. But who? And why? And what's the deal with the ruby left behind at the scene of the crime?

As they dig into the case, they'll realise its roots run deeper than they'd ever expected – going back decades to a crime that could never be forgiven.

Get it: Kindle | Audiobook | Paperback | eBay | (supports independent bookshops)


Will There Be More Death in Paradise Books?

At present, there are no announcements or pre-orders relating to future Death in Paradise novels. As a result, it's hard to say whether or not there will be more entries in the series.

The good news is that author Robert Thorogood is still alive and well and putting out books – so there's a chance. Most recently, he's been working on the Marlow Murder Club series, the first of which is now available. A second book, Death Comes to Marlow, will be released in 2023.

The Marlow Murder Club

Get it: Kindle | Audiobook | (supports independent bookshops)


Save it to Pinterest!

Robert Thorogood's Death in Paradise Book Series

Similar Posts