New Cormoran Strike Book 6 Announced: The Ink Black Heart


In some cases, we earn commissions from affiliate links in our posts.

Fans of JK Rowling's Cormoran Strike series (written as Robert Galbraith) have been re-reading the series and eagerly awaiting news of the latest book in the series – and as of today, June 30th, that news has arrived.

The sixth book in the series, The Ink Black Heart, was announced earlier this year – but it was only today that the cover and synopsis were revealed. Below, we take a look at the series so far, along with what's in store for book #6.

What are the Cormoran Strike Books About?

The first 5 Cormoran Strike Novels

The Cormoran Strike books begin when a temp called Robin Ellacott begins working for private detective Cormoran Strike. Based out of almost-contemporary London (they're roughly 5 years behind the real world), the struggling detective is an ex-army man with an Oxbridge education, a rock star father he barely knows, and a gorgeous but troubled ex-fiancee whose life seems to revolve around giving him grief. He's also an amputee, having lost part of a leg during his military service.

He's a bit of a mess, but he's talented, dedicated, and determined to make a success of the business. Unlike many classic male detectives, it's easy to like Cormoran Strike. When Robin Ellacott enters the picture, she's essentially the missing piece in his life – though neither of them realise it.

Robin has always harboured a secret desire to be a detective, and she was studying psychology before a traumatic event sent her life off the rails during university. She's engaged to a first-class douchebag, but as he was with her during her most traumatic times, she clings to the relationship.

The books are a mixture of medium-intensity mysteries with a lot of character development and a hint of long-game romance. The Silkworm is a bit gruesome in places, but for the most part, they're somewhere in the middle of the “cosy-gritty” spectrum.

They're especially good for those who enjoy LONG reads with a lot of personal life and character/world building along the way. If you like a pure procedural or puzzle mystery, they may not be for you.

RELATED: The Cormoran Strike Series in Order (with descriptions)


What is the Sixth Book in the Series, The Ink Black Heart, About?

The Ink Black Heart (2022)

Over on the official Robert Galbraith Facebook page, a cover (above) and synopsis were made public on June 30th, 2022. The book description for The Ink Black Heart is as follows:

When frantic, dishevelled Edie Ledwell appears in the office begging to speak to her, private detective Robin Ellacott doesn’t know quite what to make of the situation. The co-creator of a popular cartoon, The Ink Black Heart, Edie is being persecuted by a mysterious online figure who goes by the pseudonym of Anomie. Edie is desperate to uncover Anomie’s true identity.
Robin decides that the agency can’t help with this – and thinks nothing more of it until a few days later, when she reads the shocking news that Edie has been tasered and then murdered in Highgate Cemetery, the location of The Ink Black Heart.
Robin and her business partner Cormoran Strike become drawn into the quest to uncover Anomie’s true identity. But with a complex web of online aliases, business interests and family conflicts to navigate, Strike and Robin find themselves embroiled in a case that stretches their powers of deduction to the limits – and which threatens them in new and horrifying ways . . .

You can pre-order The Ink Black Heart at the following links:

Where Can I Watch the “CB Strike” TV Series?

Holliday Grainger as Robin and Tom Burke as Cormoran Strike

As we mentioned above, the first four books in the series have already been adapted for television, airing originally on BBC One in the UK. In the UK, the series is simply called Strike, while the series is known as CB Strike in the US.

In the UK, the episodes have aired on BBC One. If you missed their original air dates and you can't find them on iPlayer or another streaming service, you can pick up the DVDs below:

Tom Burke and Holiday Grainger in the Strike/CB Strike TV Series

In the US, HBO Max is now the exclusive streaming outlet for the series. You can also purchase a streaming copy of the season HERE (check the SD price rather than the default HD if you're on a tight budget). Your local public library may also have it on DVD.

The fifth case, Troubled Blood, began filming not too long ago, and is expected to air on BBC One sometime in 2022/23. International distribution and dates are currently unknown, but it seems likely to end up on HBO Max in the US, given that they have the rights to the previous episodes.

Keep in mind that the seasons for the TV series are arranged differently depending on where you're watching. Instead of focusing on the number of the season, look at the mystery titles. The first four books are available, but some places list that as a mere 2 seasons, while others call each mystery a separate season.

Will You Be Reading the Sixth Cormoran Strike Novel, The Ink Black Heart?

Are you counting down the days until the next Cormoran Strike novel? We certainly are – we've placed our pre-orders and we'll be setting aside a day for nothing but reading when it comes out! Will they finally get together in book 6? We can't wait to find out…


Similar Posts