14 Charming British Romantic Comedy Novels Set in London

When we think about British rom com novels (aka chick lit), Helen Fielding’s Bridget Jones’s Diary is generally held up as the gold standard. Aside from being enormously popular as books, they were also made into a series of films starring Renée Zellweger, Colin Firth, and Hugh Grant.

Not too far behind, we find Sophie Kinsella’s Shopaholic series. Though not quite as successful and timeless as the Bridget Jones series, it was made into a film starring Isla Fisher and Hugh Dancy.

What a lot of people don’t realise, though, is that the world of British rom coms is remarkably deep, with all sorts of books to choose from. In this post, we’ll specifically limit ourselves to those romantic comedy novels set in London. So – if you’re looking for a great, light-hearted novel about love in London, keep reading.

14 British Romantic Comedy Novels Set in London, England

 

One Day in December

Author: Josie Silver

Laurie is sure love at first sight doesn’t exist – until it does. One snowy December day in London, she spots the man she’s sure is the one. Sadly, the bus drives off and he’s lost to her. After a year of scanning every inch of London for him, they reunite at a party when she’s introduced as her best friend’s boyfriend.

Get it: Amazon | Bookshop.org (support independent bookstores)

 

Would Like to Meet

Would Like to Meet

Author: Rachel Winters

Evie Summers is tasked with getting screenwriter Ezra Chester to complete a contactually-obligated romcom for her company. Unfortunately, he’s decided romcoms are totally unrealistic, and he refuses to put pen to page until she proves it’s possible to meet a man like they do on screen.

Now, she’s desperately wandering London in an effort to set up her own meet cutes – spilling orange juice on strangers and  leaving her number in books all over the city.

Get it: Amazon | Bookshop.org (support independent bookstores)

 

Who’s That Girl?

Who’s That Girl?

Author: Alexandra Potter

We all have advice we’d love to give our younger selves – much of it involving hairstyles and fashion choices – but in this book, Charlotte Merryweather doesn’t have to imagine. She’s given the opportunity to turn back the clock.

Get it: Amazon | Bookshop.org (support independent bookstores)

 

The Chocolate Lover’s Club

The Chocolate Lover’s Club

Author: Carole Matthews

Four London women share a passion for chocolate, and whenever times get tough, they meet at a cafe called Chocolate Heaven to help each other out – whether it’s a cheating boyfriend, a flirtatious boss, or a gambling husband. The women are all very different, but they share a love of chocolate and each other, supporting one another through the best and worst of times.

Get it: Amazon | Bookshop.org (support independent bookstores)

 

Again, but Better

Again, but Better

Author: Christine Riccio

Eager for a change, Shane signs up for a semester abroad in London to help undo some of her university mistakes. A new life outside her comfortable bubble won’t come easy – but with a bit of luck, it will be worth it.

This one may appeal more to younger readers, as the character is quite young and there’s a definite feeling of immaturity throughout.

Get it: Amazon | Bookshop.org (support independent bookstores)

 

The Little Lady Agency

The Little Lady Agency

Author: Hester Browne

For all her talents and social skills, Melissa can’t seem to find love. After she loses yet another job, she decides to market herself to single men who need help shopping, entertaining, and navigating social situations.

Since her father is an MP and she doesn’t want to embarrass him, she assumes the identity of Honey, wearing a blonde wig to help her clients. Before too long, one man in particular has become a repeat customer – and her identities are in danger of blurring.

Get it: Amazon | Bookshop.org (support independent bookstores)

 

Swapping Lives

Swapping Lives

Author: Jane Green

As director of a magazine, Vicky’s glamorous London life seems perfect. Still, she longs for the comfort and security of a husband, kids, and a house in the country. Across the pond, Amber has a lovely Connecticut home, two kids, and a nanny – but she occasionally longs for a bit more excitement.

When the two decide to swap lives, they find the grass isn’t always greener.

Get it: Amazon | Bookshop.org (support independent bookstores)

 

Asking for Trouble

Author: Elizabeth Young

Unmarried and thirty, Sophy is far less troubled about her situation than her mother is. To silence her mum’s lectures, she invents a boyfriend named Dominic – but it backfires when her sister gets married and she needs to find someone to fill the role.

Desperate, Sophy hires a handsome London escort. The lies quickly spiral out of control and she realises she’s actually quite fond of her pretend Dominic…but can she make it work with a man she’s hired as an escort?

Get it: Amazon | Bookshop.org (support independent bookstores)

 

The Authenticity Project

The Authenticity Project

Author: Clare Pooley

Julian Jessop doesn’t believe people are truly honest with each other, so he starts writing the truth of his own life in a journal he leaves in a local cafe. Soon, others are adding entries and lives are connected in strange and wonderful ways.

Get it: Amazon | Bookshop.org (support independent bookstores)

 

Running in Heels

Running in Heels

Author: Anna Maxted

When a young woman’s best friend “leaves her” to get married, she panics. This 2002 novel focuses on what she does next – and it’s chaos. Between the breakdown of her relationship, a totally unsuitable affair, and all manner of family drama, it’s a light, fun read for those who want to step back to the innocent days of early 2000s London.

Get it: Amazon | Bookshop.org (support independent bookstores)

 

Cocktails for Three

Cocktails for Three

Author: Madeleine Wickham

Madeleine Wickham is the pen name of Shopaholic author Sophie Kinsella, and she uses the name for books that feature ensemble casts and slightly darker or edgier themes than what you’d normally see in “chick lit” or traditional romcoms.

This particular novel follows three women and the secrets they share over monthly drinks – from secret lovers to the struggles of motherhood to ghosts from the past. If typical romcoms are just a little sweeter than you like, these books may be just the thing for you.

Get it: Amazon | Bookshop.org (support independent bookstores)

 

Here’s Looking at You

Here’s Looking at You

Author: Mhairi McFarlane

Anna Alessi is a thirtysomething history expert with a generally good adult life, but her childhood was full of bullying. When a man who once humiliated her shows up in her life, everything is turned upside down. She’s reminded of all those old feelings – but at the same time, James seems like a changed man. He’s polite, mature, and maybe just the slightest bit appealing.  Can she trust him?

Get it: Amazon | Bookshop.org (support independent bookstores)

 

Single in the City

Single in the City

Author: Michele Gorman

When 26-year-old American Hannah moved to London on a whim, she was hit by major culture shock before she even got over her jet lag. Now, she has to figure out how to find a job, make friends, meet men, and actually build the life she wants.

Get it: Amazon | Bookshop.org (support independent bookstores)

 

Just Friends

Just Friends

Author: Elizabeth Grey

Violet Archer has a glamorous job at a London ad agency and a cute co-worker who makes every day a little bit better. Unfortunately, one crazy night out leaves all the great things in her life in jeopardy – plus, Violet begins to realise she has actual feelings for her co-worker.

This is the first book in a series set in London, and if you’re not a fan of swearing and a bit of sex, you may want to avoid this one.

Get it: Amazon | Bookshop.org (support independent bookstores)

 

What’s Your Favourite Romantic Comedy Novel Set in London?

Do you prefer the classics, like Bridget Jones and Shopaholic? Or do you like the quirkier indie titles or more modern tales? Share your thoughts in the comments!

 

Save it to Pinterest!

British Rom-Com Novels Set in London, England

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap