19 Books Like Outlander: Scottish Time Travel Books for People Who Like Outlander

  • Save

Often when a book series gets adapted for TV and becomes popular, it spawns a host of imitations – and renews interest in similar titles that have been around for ages. That's exactly what has happened with the popular Outlander series. Scottish time travel books are hot, and while Outlander is certainly the most popular, it's neither the first nor the only book to tell a story of romance and adventure across time.

If you've exhausted all that the Outlander series has to offer, you may be looking for more like that. Below, we take a look at some of the best and most highly-rated books like Outlander – tales of time travel, romance, and adventure in Scotland.

19 Books Like Outlander: Time Travel Books Set in Scotland

Though you could certainly make the argument that other, non-Scottish time travel books and typical Highland romance novels are great things to add to your post-Outlander reading list, we know there many times when you don't want something “sort of like” what you just had. You want more of the very same type of thing.

So, with this list, we've tried to get as close as humanly possible and stick with ONLY Scottish time travel stories with some element of adventure and romance. The majority of the entries are series rather than single books, so in those cases we've listed the first book to get you started.

Bethany Claire's Morna's Legacy Series

  • Save
Love Beyond Time

Schoolteacher Brielle Montgomery reluctantly joins her archaologist mother on a dig in Scotland, only to find herself transported 400 years back in time. Suddenly, she's thrust into a life where she's about to marry Eoin Conall, an almost impossibly sexy Scotsman who doesn't like her at all. He's only following through with the marriage because of a promise to his dying father.

When Bri enters the picture, he notices something has changed about his wife-to-be, and it's a good thing. Unfortunately, Bri knows her history and she knows Eoin's entire clan will be slaughtered. Can she protect her new love and save both of their lives?

To date, there are twelve books in this series. You can start with the first below:

Get it: Amazon Kindle | Amazon Print | Audiobook | Bookshop.org (supports independent bookshops)

 

Claire R. McDougall's Veil of Time

  • Save
Veil of Time

With her marriage over and her son off to school, Maggie takes some time out at a cottage near the ruins of Dunadd. When she awakens, she finds herself wandering the busy village of Dunadd – in the eighth century! She soon finds herself drawn to the handsome Fergus, brother of the king and father to a young girl who looks remarkably like her own late daughter. Torn between two worlds, will she stay with her new love or return to her old life that wasn't much to get excited about?

Get it: Amazon Kindle | Amazon Print | Audiobook | Bookshop.org (supports independent bookshops)

 

Veronica Wolff's Highland Series

  • Save
Master of the Highlands

Lily Hamlin is having a rough time personally, so she decides to go ahead and take that long dreamt-about trip to Scotland. While exploring the Highlands, she wanders through an overgrown maze with an odd stone map…and suddenly finds herself in 1654 Lochaber.

The widowed clan chief Ewen has no need for romance in his life, but when a saucy lass with a weird accent shows up, all bets are off. Though the romance is exciting, Lily soon realises her new life comes with its fair share of danger.

Get it: Amazon Kindle | Amazon Print | Audiobook | Bookshop.org (supports independent bookshops)

 

Jessi Gage's Highland Wishes Series

  • Save
Wishing for a Highlander

When a single, expectant museum worker wishes on a Scottish artifact, she never expects her wish to come true – until she's magically transported back in time to the middle of the Scottish Highlands during the sixteenth century. There, she meets a poor, handsome bachelor who's known for being too “endowed” under his kilt to ever make a good husband.

Get it: Amazon Kindle | Amazon Print | Audiobook | Bookshop.org (supports independent bookshops)

 

Hazel Hunter's Immortal Highlander Series

  • Save
Lachlan

Kinley's life is not going well. Suffering from PTSD and dealing with the end of her career, it all turns around when she suddenly finds herself in medieval Scotland. There, she meets Lachlan McDonnel, laird to a clan of immortal Highlanders – and the sparks fly.

This series definitely falls on the mature side of things, both in terms of sex and violence. There's also an element of fantasy that extends beyond the time travel part of the story.

Get it: Amazon Kindle | Amazon Print | Audiobook | Bookshop.org (supports independent bookshops)

 

Catherine Bybee's MacCoinnich Time Travels Series

  • Save
Binding Vows

Duncan McCoinnich had a simple task: time travel to a twenty-first century Renn Faire, deflower druid virgins, and go home. When feelings develop between modern-day Tara and sixteenth century Duncan, it all gets a lot more complicated.

Get it: Amazon Kindle | Amazon Print | Audiobook | Bookshop.org (supports independent bookshops)

 

Jo Barrett's Highlander's Challenge

  • Save
Highlander's Challenge

Tuck is a personal bodyguard, and her latest assignment is certainly one to remember. It involves a kidnapper, an enchanted fountain, and a sixteenth century Highlander who wants nothing more than to lock her up and keep her.

Get it: Amazon Kindle | Amazon Print | Audiobook | Bookshop.org (supports independent bookshops)

 

Kim Sakwa's Lairds of the Crest Series

  • Save
The Prophecy

Gwendolyn Reynolds takes a soul-searching trip to Scotland, but when a storm forces her car off the road, she plunges into icy water and comes back up in 1426 Scotland. There, she finds Laird Greylen McGreggor, a man waiting for a woman foretold in prophecy.

Get it: Amazon Kindle | Amazon Print | Audiobook | Bookshop.org (supports independent bookshops)

 

Janet Chapman's The Highlander Next Door

  • Save
The Highlander Next Door

This one almost didn't make it on the list because it's a little different from the others. Rather than the heroine travelling back in time, it's the hero who travels forward to modern day Maine.

Get it: Amazon Kindle | Amazon Print | Audiobook | Bookshop.org (supports independent bookshops)

 

Maxine Mansfield's Time for a Highlander

  • Save
Time for a Highlander

History teacher Bethany Anne Anderson is killed on a trip to Scotland – but before she can pass on to the next phase, fate steps in and drops her into the body of twenty-one-year-old Lady Elspeth Frasier in 1643 Scotland. There, she must give a Highland laird an heir before she can move on.

Get it: Amazon Kindle | Amazon Print | Audiobook | Bookshop.org (supports independent bookshops)

 

Melissa Mayhue's Thirty Nights with a Highland Husband

  • Save
Thirty Nights with a Highland Husband

In 2007 Denver, Caitlyn Coryell's life is falling apart. When she puts on an antique pendant, a Highland warrior suddenly appears in her bedroom, begging for her help. At his urging, she'll go back in time and marry him, assuming no one kills her first.

Get it: Amazon Kindle | Amazon Print | Audiobook | Bookshop.org (supports independent bookshops)

 

Ceci Giltenan's Pocket Watch Chronicles

  • Save
The Pocket Watch

This series focuses on a young woman who receives a mysterious pocket watch that allows time travel. Each entry in the series features a romance between one person from the modern world and one from some period in Scottish history – but the specifics always vary.

It's also worth noting that unlike many books in this genre, there are no explicit love scenes in these books. If you prefer less heat, definitely give this one a read.

Get it: Amazon Kindle | Amazon Print | Audiobook | Bookshop.org (supports independent bookshops)

 

Clover Autrey's Highland Sorcery Series

  • Save
Highland Sorcerer

When a naked, bleeding Highlander appears in her modern-day kitchen, Charity Greves does what any decent herbalist would do – she heals him. What she didn't expect was to be pulled back to the 13th century where her Highlander is being held captive.

Each book in this series focuses on a different couple in a different time travel situation, and this is another series where the heat level is “safe to read with granny”.

Get it: Amazon Kindle | Amazon Print | Audiobook | Bookshop.org (supports independent bookshops)

 

Karen Marie Moning's Highlander Series

  • Save
Beyond the Highland Mist

Hawk is a legendary predator in battle and the bedroom, but no woman has managed to tame him. When a vengeful fairy yanks Adrienne de Simone from modern day Seattle, however, he might just find his perfect match. She's having none of it, but he's determined to win her heart.

Get it: Amazon Kindle | Amazon Print | Audiobook | Bookshop.org (supports independent bookshops)

 

Allie Mackay's Ravenscraig Legacy Series

  • Save
Highlander in Her Bed

Tour guide Mara McDougall doesn't believe in ghosts – until she meets a handsome Scottish one on a trip to the UK. While this isn't strictly a time travel book, all the books in this series contain links between the past and present with supernatural elements. If you're looking for a slight twist on the genre, you may enjoy these.

Get it: Amazon Kindle | Amazon Print | Audiobook | Bookshop.org (supports independent bookshops)

 

Susan Price's Sterkarm Series

  • Save
The Sterkarm Handshake

After a British corporation invents a time tube with a portal back to sixteenth century Scotland, they send representatives 500 years back in time to deal with a lawless clan of barbarians. Interpreter Andrea soon develops a bond with Per, the handsome son of the clan chieftain, Toorkild – but when tensions rise, she'll be forced to choose sides.

Get it: Amazon Kindle | Amazon Print | Audiobook | Bookshop.org (supports independent bookshops)

 

Lynn Kurland's MacLeod Series

  • Save
A Dance Through Time

In the New York City of 1996, Elizabeth Smith's writing career is stalled – until one day, she begins hearing the voice of a Scottish man calling to her. She thinks she's going crazy until she dozes off in Gramercy Park and wakes up in 14th century Scotland. There, she'll find herself face to face with the man whose voice filled her mind.

Get it: Amazon Kindle | Amazon Print | Audiobook | Bookshop.org (supports independent bookshops)

 

Callie Berkham's Time Orb Series

  • Save
From Suits to Kilts

Each book of this series features a heroine transported to a different time and place – with the first novel dropping historian Abby Davis onto an ancient Scottish battleground. There, she'll save the life of a warrior, losing her time orb in the process.

Get it: Amazon Kindle | Amazon Print | Audiobook | Bookshop.org (supports independent bookshops)

 

J. Ardian Lee's Son of the Sword

  • Save
Son of the Sword

This one's kind of an unusual entry because the protagonist is a man. Dylan Matheson is a relatively normal modern man, but when he picks up a magical broadsword at a Medieval Faire, he's transported to 1713 Scotland where Jacobite revels are fighting English oppression. There, he'll fight for the cause and attempt to win the heart of fair Caitrionagh, daughter of a haughty laird.

Get it: Amazon Kindle | Amazon Print | Audiobook | Bookshop.org (supports independent bookshops)

 

What's Your Favourite Scottish Time Travel Book?

Have you read any of these Scottish time travel books? What's your favourite? Do you have other recommendations? Feel free to share them in the comments!

 

Save it to Pinterest!

  • Save
Books Like Outlander: Scottish Time Travel Romance Novels to Make You Swoon

Join the Free British Book Club Newsletter

Learn about new releases, deals, + more great book lists and features. 

Join the Free British Book Club Newsletter

Learn about new releases, deals, + more great book lists and features. 

Scroll to Top
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap