British Mystery Novels

scottish cozy mysteries

16 Delightful Cozy Mystery Novels Set in Scotland

If you love Scotland and you love mystery novels, but you DON’T always love reading the gruesome details of how a victim was killed, this is the perfect reading list for you. In this post, we’re taking a look at Scottish cozy mysteries. These books are set anywhere from the Scottish borders all the way …

16 Delightful Cozy Mystery Novels Set in Scotland Read More »

scottish cozy mysteries
british mysteries set in oxford england

27 Brilliant British Mystery Novels Set in Oxford, England

Whether you’re a fan of the Endeavour – Inspector Morse – Inspector Lewis TV shows or you just love the city of Oxford, it’s hard to deny its appeal as the setting for a mystery novel. It’s a city filled with some of the world’s most brilliant people living and working alongside some of the …

27 Brilliant British Mystery Novels Set in Oxford, England Read More »

british mysteries set in oxford england

15 Intriguing British Victorian Mystery Novels for Fans of Sherlock Holmes & Ripper Street

If you enjoyed books like the Sherlock Holmes series (late Victorian to Edwardian) or television shows like Ripper Street, there’s a good chance you might also enjoy reading a mystery or two from the same time period. Below, we’ve gathered up some of the best Victorian-set British mystery novels to help you explore the options. …

15 Intriguing British Victorian Mystery Novels for Fans of Sherlock Holmes & Ripper Street Read More »

Irish & British Novels for Fans of the Period Mystery Dead Still

If you follow the world of British TV, you’ve probably heard of the new Irish period mystery Dead Still – and if not, we definitely recommend you check it out HERE on Acorn TV. The series follows Brock Blennerhasset, a man who earns his living taking photographs of the dead. It’s set in Victorian Dublin, …

Irish & British Novels for Fans of the Period Mystery Dead Still Read More »

15 British Mystery Novels Set in Cornwall, England

If you’ve watched British television shows like Poldark and Doc Martin, you know precisely how beautiful the Cornish coast can be. It’s a county steeped in history and natural beauty, with a past full of smugglers and pirates and hard-working farmers and miners (among other things). Even today, it remains somewhat isolated from the rest …

15 British Mystery Novels Set in Cornwall, England Read More »

13 Intriguing Books Set in Mysterious & Stately British Homes

Whether it’s Mr. Rochester’s Thornfield Hall or Maxim de Winter’s Manderley, sprawling country estates have long been a popular setting for British literature. There’s just something intriguing about a big, old house that’s miles from the nearest neighbour. It’s the perfect setting for psychologically torturing your characters. You’ve got eerie solitude, beauty (often fading or …

13 Intriguing Books Set in Mysterious & Stately British Homes Read More »

11 Cozy British Mysteries to Curl Up with This Autumn

11 Cozy British Mystery Novels to Curl Up to This Autumn…

If you’re not already familiar with the genre, cozy mysteries are a sub-section of mystery fiction where sex and violence are softened. Crazy and terrible things happened, but it’s a bit like viewing them through a warm, fuzzy filter. Unlike the real world of gritty, often unthinkable violence, cozy mysteries are…well, cozy. Instead of real …

11 Cozy British Mystery Novels to Curl Up to This Autumn… Read More »

11 Cozy British Mysteries to Curl Up with This Autumn
Scroll to Top