A Look at Anthony Horowitz’s Intriguing Adult Mystery Novels

Few modern British writers have been as prolific and influential as Anthony Horowitz (image credit: AnthonyHorowitz.com & Jack Lawson). Along with the brilliant period mystery series Foyle’s War, he’s also responsible for the Alex Rider series, at least a dozen other young adult books, and several more TV shows (including the first handful of episodes …

Read moreA Look at Anthony Horowitz’s Intriguing Adult Mystery Novels

All of M.C. Beaton’s Agatha Raisin Books in Order

MC Beaton's Agatha Raisin Books in Order Feature

Whether you’re a long-time reader or you’ve only recently discovered M.C. Beaton’s delightful Agatha Raisin series of cosy mysteries, it can be a bit of a nuisance to keep track of the series order. There are, after all, 31 books in the Agatha Raisin series (as of January 2021). In this post, we’ll take a …

Read moreAll of M.C. Beaton’s Agatha Raisin Books in Order

11 Great British Christmas Cosy Mysteries to Read this Winter

british christmas mystery novels header

Since it seems like this holiday season may give all of us a little extra time indoors, I thought we’d use this post to take a look at some British Christmas-themed mystery novels. Christmas murder mysteries are practically a genre all to themselves, so it would take more than one post to tackle them all …

Read more11 Great British Christmas Cosy Mysteries to Read this Winter

27 Brilliant British Mystery Novels Set in Oxford, England

british mysteries set in oxford england

Whether you’re a fan of the Endeavour – Inspector Morse – Inspector Lewis TV shows or you just love the city of Oxford, it’s hard to deny its appeal as the setting for a mystery novel. It’s a city filled with some of the world’s most brilliant people living and working alongside some of the …

Read more27 Brilliant British Mystery Novels Set in Oxford, England

15 Intriguing British Victorian Mystery Novels for Fans of Sherlock Holmes & Ripper Street

If you enjoyed books like the Sherlock Holmes series (late Victorian to Edwardian) or television shows like Ripper Street, there’s a good chance you might also enjoy reading a mystery or two from the same time period. Below, we’ve gathered up some of the best Victorian-set British mystery novels to help you explore the options. …

Read more15 Intriguing British Victorian Mystery Novels for Fans of Sherlock Holmes & Ripper Street

Irish & British Novels for Fans of the Period Mystery Dead Still

If you follow the world of British TV, you’ve probably heard of the new Irish period mystery Dead Still – and if not, we definitely recommend you check it out HERE on Acorn TV. The series follows Brock Blennerhasset, a man who earns his living taking photographs of the dead. It’s set in Victorian Dublin, …

Read moreIrish & British Novels for Fans of the Period Mystery Dead Still

15 British Mystery Novels Set in Cornwall, England

If you’ve watched British television shows like Poldark and Doc Martin, you know precisely how beautiful the Cornish coast can be. It’s a county steeped in history and natural beauty, with a past full of smugglers and pirates and hard-working farmers and miners (among other things). Even today, it remains somewhat isolated from the rest …

Read more15 British Mystery Novels Set in Cornwall, England

13 Intriguing Books Set in Mysterious & Stately British Homes

Whether it’s Mr. Rochester’s Thornfield Hall or Maxim de Winter’s Manderley, sprawling country estates have long been a popular setting for British literature. There’s just something intriguing about a big, old house that’s miles from the nearest neighbour. It’s the perfect setting for psychologically torturing your characters. You’ve got eerie solitude, beauty (often fading or …

Read more13 Intriguing Books Set in Mysterious & Stately British Homes