27 Brilliant British Mystery Novels Set in Oxford, England
/

27 Brilliant British Mystery Novels Set in Oxford, England

Whether you’re a fan of the Endeavour – Inspector Morse – Inspector Lewis TV shows or you just love the city of Oxford, it’s hard to deny its appeal as the setting for a mystery novel. It’s a city filled with some of the world’s most brilliant people living and working alongside some of the world’s most beautiful scenery. It’s old, it’s distinguished, and it feels like a city with secrets. There’s a reason it’s one of the most expensive…

15 Intriguing British Victorian Mystery Novels for Fans of Sherlock Holmes & Ripper Street
/

15 Intriguing British Victorian Mystery Novels for Fans of Sherlock Holmes & Ripper Street

If you enjoyed books like the Sherlock Holmes series (late Victorian to Edwardian) or television shows like Ripper Street, there’s a good chance you might also enjoy reading a mystery or two from the same time period. Below, we’ve gathered up some of the best Victorian-set British mystery novels to help you explore the options. Most of the books below are parts of longer series – so if you find you like it, you’ll have plenty more to enjoy. British…

Irish & British Novels for Fans of the Period Mystery Dead Still

Irish & British Novels for Fans of the Period Mystery Dead Still

If you follow the world of British TV, you’ve probably heard of the new Irish period mystery Dead Still – and if not, we definitely recommend you check it out HERE on Acorn TV. The series follows Brock Blennerhasset, a man who earns his living taking photographs of the dead. It’s set in Victorian Dublin, a time when a simple walk through the city could find a person in all manner of trouble. Working alongside Blennerhasset are his new apprentice…

15 British Mystery Novels Set in Cornwall, England
/

15 British Mystery Novels Set in Cornwall, England

If you’ve watched British television shows like Poldark and Doc Martin, you know precisely how beautiful the Cornish coast can be. It’s a county steeped in history and natural beauty, with a past full of smugglers and pirates and hard-working farmers and miners (among other things). Even today, it remains somewhat isolated from the rest of England. It’s set at the far southwestern tip of the country, and while you can take a train there, it’s a surprisingly lengthy journey…

13 Intriguing Books Set in Mysterious & Stately British Homes
/

13 Intriguing Books Set in Mysterious & Stately British Homes

Whether it’s Mr. Rochester’s Thornfield Hall or Maxim de Winter’s Manderley, sprawling country estates have long been a popular setting for British literature. There’s just something intriguing about a big, old house that’s miles from the nearest neighbour. It’s the perfect setting for psychologically torturing your characters. You’ve got eerie solitude, beauty (often fading or crumbling), money, class issues, and plenty of dead ancestors in the event you need to bring in some ghosts. For those who want to go…

21 Delightful British Books Set in Restaurants & Cafes

21 Delightful British Books Set in Restaurants & Cafes

It may not be possible to have a leisurely lunch at a local cafe right now, but that doesn’t mean you can’t sink your teeth into a book set in a lovely British cafe or restaurant. Whether you always enjoy books set in restaurants, or you’re just craving that sort of thing while homebound, we’ve got some recommendations to get you started. Every book on this list meets at least one of the following criteria: Written by an author from…

New Cormoran Strike Novel Announced: Troubled Blood, by “Robert Galbraith”, aka JK Rowling

New Cormoran Strike Novel Announced: Troubled Blood, by “Robert Galbraith”, aka JK Rowling

At long last, Robert Galbraith – aka JK Rowling – has announced the upcoming arrival of the fifth Cormoran Strike novel. The book, Troubled Blood, will be released on September 29th of this year. The fifth Robert Galbraith crime novel, TROUBLED BLOOD, will be published on 29th September! Are you excited for the next chapter in #StrikeandRobin’s story? — Robert Galbraith (@RGalbraith) February 19, 2020 Just a couple of weeks prior, JK Rowling herself had tweeted a giant stack of…

14 Mystery Novels Set in Edinburgh, Scotland

14 Mystery Novels Set in Edinburgh, Scotland

If you’ve ever been lucky enough to visit Edinburgh, you’ll know there aren’t many cities better suited to murder and mystery. Though it’s quite safe now, it’s not at all difficult to imagine dodgy characters lurking in the shadows. It’s an old city in an old country, and it has more than its fair share of bloody history. For those who enjoy Edinburgh in all its creepy glory, we’ve gathered up some of the best mystery novels set in Edinburgh…

11 Cozy British Mystery Novels to Curl Up to This Autumn…
/

11 Cozy British Mystery Novels to Curl Up to This Autumn…

If you’re not already familiar with the genre, cozy mysteries are a sub-section of mystery fiction where sex and violence are softened. Crazy and terrible things happened, but it’s a bit like viewing them through a warm, fuzzy filter. Unlike the real world of gritty, often unthinkable violence, cozy mysteries are…well, cozy. Instead of real police, most cozy mysteries feature an amateur detective – often a woman, though not always. In the world of British television, Pie in the Sky…

British Novels About Small Businesses or Entrepreneurs

British Novels About Small Businesses or Entrepreneurs

This may be kind of an odd topic, but I’ve always enjoyed novels about small businesses or entrepreneurs. As a self-employed person, I enjoy stories set against the backdrop of almost any kind of business – whether it’s a cosy mystery set in a bookshop, an adventure in the world of jet-setting big business, or an epic novel about a man’s rags to riches journey. Since this is a British book site, I’m strictly limiting this list to novels either…

End of content

End of content