The Royal Mint Issues an Agatha Christie £2 Commemorative Coin

Agatha Christie Collectible Coin

Christie The Royal Mint is well known for releasing a steady output of unique, interesting, and uniquely British coins. Whether it’s Elton John, The Tower of London, or Peter Rabbit, they’re great at celebrating well-loved British icons on real – not merely collectible – money. 100 Years of Agatha Christie This year marks the 100th anniversary of the publication of …

The Royal Mint Issues an Agatha Christie £2 Commemorative Coin Read More »

14 Charming British Romantic Comedy Novels Set in London

When we think about British rom com novels (aka chick lit), Helen Fielding’s Bridget Jones’s Diary is generally held up as the gold standard. Aside from being enormously popular as books, they were also made into a series of films starring Renée Zellweger, Colin Firth, and Hugh Grant. Not too far behind, we find Sophie Kinsella’s Shopaholic series. Though not …

14 Charming British Romantic Comedy Novels Set in London Read More »

Read Like a Duchess: What’s On Catherine, Duchess of Cambridge’s Bookshelf?

By all accounts, the Duchess of Cambridge is an educated, intelligent woman. In 2005, she graduated from the University of St. Andrews in Scotland with an undergraduate MA in the history of art. She also studied at the British Institute of Florence during her gap year. Those things considered, it’s no surprise she’s a reader. She’s been spotted leaving Waterstones …

Read Like a Duchess: What’s On Catherine, Duchess of Cambridge’s Bookshelf? Read More »

16 Delightful Cozy Mystery Novels Set in Scotland

scottish cozy mysteries

If you love Scotland and you love mystery novels, but you DON’T always love reading the gruesome details of how a victim was killed, this is the perfect reading list for you. In this post, we’re taking a look at Scottish cozy mysteries. These books are set anywhere from the Scottish borders all the way up to the Highlands and …

16 Delightful Cozy Mystery Novels Set in Scotland Read More »

27 Brilliant British Mystery Novels Set in Oxford, England

british mysteries set in oxford england

Whether you’re a fan of the Endeavour – Inspector Morse – Inspector Lewis TV shows or you just love the city of Oxford, it’s hard to deny its appeal as the setting for a mystery novel. It’s a city filled with some of the world’s most brilliant people living and working alongside some of the world’s most beautiful scenery. It’s …

27 Brilliant British Mystery Novels Set in Oxford, England Read More »

15 Intriguing British Victorian Mystery Novels for Fans of Sherlock Holmes & Ripper Street

If you enjoyed books like the Sherlock Holmes series (late Victorian to Edwardian) or television shows like Ripper Street, there’s a good chance you might also enjoy reading a mystery or two from the same time period. Below, we’ve gathered up some of the best Victorian-set British mystery novels to help you explore the options. Most of the books below …

15 Intriguing British Victorian Mystery Novels for Fans of Sherlock Holmes & Ripper Street Read More »

Irish & British Novels for Fans of the Period Mystery Dead Still

If you follow the world of British TV, you’ve probably heard of the new Irish period mystery Dead Still – and if not, we definitely recommend you check it out HERE on Acorn TV. The series follows Brock Blennerhasset, a man who earns his living taking photographs of the dead. It’s set in Victorian Dublin, a time when a simple …

Irish & British Novels for Fans of the Period Mystery Dead Still Read More »

15 British Mystery Novels Set in Cornwall, England

If you’ve watched British television shows like Poldark and Doc Martin, you know precisely how beautiful the Cornish coast can be. It’s a county steeped in history and natural beauty, with a past full of smugglers and pirates and hard-working farmers and miners (among other things). Even today, it remains somewhat isolated from the rest of England. It’s set at …

15 British Mystery Novels Set in Cornwall, England Read More »

13 Intriguing Books Set in Mysterious & Stately British Homes

Whether it’s Mr. Rochester’s Thornfield Hall or Maxim de Winter’s Manderley, sprawling country estates have long been a popular setting for British literature. There’s just something intriguing about a big, old house that’s miles from the nearest neighbour. It’s the perfect setting for psychologically torturing your characters. You’ve got eerie solitude, beauty (often fading or crumbling), money, class issues, and …

13 Intriguing Books Set in Mysterious & Stately British Homes Read More »

21 Delightful British Books Set in Restaurants & Cafes

It may not be possible to have a leisurely lunch at a local cafe right now, but that doesn’t mean you can’t sink your teeth into a book set in a lovely British cafe or restaurant. Whether you always enjoy books set in restaurants, or you’re just craving that sort of thing while homebound, we’ve got some recommendations to get …

21 Delightful British Books Set in Restaurants & Cafes Read More »

Join the Free British Book Club Newsletter

Learn about new releases, deals, + more great book lists and features. 

Scroll to Top
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap